As all of you know who wade through my blogs regularly, I make quilts.  Sometimes by request, sometimes for charity work, sometimes to pick up a few shekels of extra spending money.  Several months back when I posted pictures of quilts on my Facebook page a man I’ve known for years bought a log cabin snuggle quilt for his wife.  When he came to pick it up he talked to me about his six granddaughters. Yes, you read that correctly, six!  Made me think of Psalm 127:4-5 King James Version (KJV)

4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

5 Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.

Six granddaughters!  What a delight.  As we spoke he told of his love for those girls and said he would like to leave them each a quilt to remember their grandpa by.  Something they could keep always that would remind them of him. He didn’t have particular patterns or colors in mind just so they looked “girly” and he wanted what I call snuggle size.  The size you keep draped over the back of the couch or chair so you can grab it and snuggle under it while watching television or reading.  The kind kids like to take to college with them for picnics, throwing onto the dorm room floor for everyone to sit on while discussing the woes of the world, or just to snuggle under for a nap when they are missing home.  Woo-hoo, my kind of project.

This was an opportunity for me to try out some patterns I had on my bucket list and use up some of my “stash” at the same time.  What’s not to like about a “twofer?”

The girls ages run from 1 ½ to 11 years so some needed to be more child-like than others, but all needed to be something they would want in years to come.

The first one I made is a combination of two different patterns, windmills, and flying geese.  I have no idea which girl will receive it but it is full of cotton candy colors, scraps from Easter fabric and lots of other fabrics so one can spend endless time looking at the scraps and finding different items in it.

Pinwheels and flying geese2

The second one I made was a simple nine patch, but there were enough scraps of each fabric that I could make diagonal rows of the same blocks and take it a step out of the ordinary.  The nine patch may be the oldest quilt block known to mankind.

nine patch

I was on a roll now so I turned some of the scrappy pieces into chevrons, which I’m given to understand are very popular just now, and bordered the chevrons with odds and ends of an old Navaho quilt block which look like diamonds set on point.  The old and new work well together, I think.

Chevron girl

Now I’m on the home-stretch but wait, my son needs me to make a quilt for a special group of firefighters, the Pipe and Drum corps.  I contacted the grandpa by email and he quickly sent back a reply that said, “You take your time on the girl’s quilts, I’m in no hurry and they don’t know about them yet, so you get those firefighters taken care of and then come back and work on these quilts.  There is no hurry.”  Is this a nice man or what? So I made the quilt from t-shirts for the firefighters (See the finished product here: https://diggingupbonesbratkin.wordpress.com/2015/05/13/the-firefighter-quilt/ ) and then came back to the girl’s quilts and made a fourth one and decided on the Pioneer Braid pattern and I used the flowered stripes from a piece of material I had on hand to separate the braids.  This turned out to be my personal favorite of all six quilts.

Briaded quilt2

Then along came my niece with news of her diagnosis of breast cancer – again – and I wanted to do something for her to show her how loved she is and that we were pulling for her.  What does a quilt maker do but make a quilt of love?   So I made this pink ribbon quilt for her before getting back to the granddaughter quilts.  Sometimes life just gets in the way.

Pink ribbon quilt

Two quilts left to go and I liked the Pioneer Braid so much I decided to use a similar treatment with some more striped fabric I had and make an Ohio Star with the rows of stars separated by stripes of flowers.  I made two rows of stars and ran out of pink material I was using to set them with and the two rows were too narrow to make a quilt.  What to do, what to do?  Well, the green was the same color as part of the leaves on the flowers so I made a row set with green and put it  in the middle.  Yeah, that works!

Ohio star 5

Now there is only one left to do and I had a box full and overflowing of stringy pieces left from many, many quilts so I sewed them together into triangles and made spider webs with them and appliqued them to some pink polka dot fabric. And because the pink is almost sweet enough to make your teeth hurt looking at it, I toned it down with a lovely green for the sashing.

spider web quilt 2

There, all done!  Now I’m working on a Mickey Mouse quilt for a friend and it has a story with it too.  Maybe another blog story.

I found this poem online about two granddaughters but thought how much more the blessings would be for six.

© Richard N. Cook more by Richard N. Cook

June 2007

Two Sweethearts

God said, “I have something special for you,

I thought I would send one, but I just sent two.”

Grandaughters they be, and it’s really nice.

God thought to bless Grandpa twice.

Two little girls God sent to me,

Just how lucky can a Grandpa be?

Flooding my life with so much joy,

Girls aren’t the same as a little boy.

They just love you and become a part,

Twisting like a vine around your heart.

Each one grows a little each day,

Growing up in their own little way.

Just so beautiful, like two cultured pearls,

My, how Grandpa loves his two girls.

Two sweethearts, I like to call them,

God’s gift to me, I should thank him.

None so loved your Grandpa imparts,

Katelyn and Kaysi, my two sweethearts

Source: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/grandfather-loves-his-two-granddaughters#ixzz3bltQiPRr

Family Friend Poems

