This is one of my favorite times of the year. Not just because families come together, though I’m glad we do, nor the anticipation of the fun times associated with the Holidays, though we have lots of them, but because every year on Black Friday Bonnie Hunter releases the first clue for her mystery quilt.  If you are a quilter and like to work on mystery quilts this one is for you.  Can you believe it, it is free!  You can find the colors needed and the first clue here: http://quiltville.blogspot.com/p/en-provence-mystery.html

The colors are unusual this year and absolutely gorgeous, but the first block of the quilt is made of all neutrals.

squares-for-mystery

Yes, those are 2 inch squares of fabric that I had tossed into a box as I cut fabric for other projects.  When something calls for a certain size square I always check my pre-cut boxes first.  So I sewed these squares together to make a 3 1/2 inch square.

squares-for-mystery-sewn-2-by-2

Here are those squares sewn together so there are two squares in each segment.

squares-for-mystery-sewn-4-x-4

Then the two squares sewn to another 2 squares so there are four 2 inch squares sewn together giving me a 3 1/2 inch square that will finish at 3 inches.

mystery-quilt-strips-sewn-together

Next I pulled out my neutral 2 inch strips an sewed them together to make more squares. This is much easier and faster than using the single squares.

mystery-quilt-squares-being-ironed

Then to the ironing board with all those four patches sewn together the pressing started. You can see my first ones pressed at the back with a clip on them.

mystery-quilt-spun-seams-2

Yes, those seams are spun clockwise on the back as instructed by Bonnie.  This makes the bulk much less and the patch lies flatter.

mystery-quilt-neutral-blocks

Viola! Here are the bundles of 25 to a bundle just waiting for the next step.  I feel I’ve accomplished something this week!  Go me!

