A hot item in many Etsy craft shops seems to be a folded fabric wreath.  It looked interesting enough that I decided to make one for a ladies Christmas party and gift swap I was attending.

Christmas fabric, check.fabric-and-fuse-and-shape

And I had some Fuse-N-Shape on hand so I was good to go.  But let me say here, you don’t have to have double-sided fusible.  It really just needs to fuse to one side but I had this on hand so used it. Yes, it worked fine, but if I was buying some for this particular project I would buy a lighter weight, this was pretty heavy.

It was necessary to straighten the edge of the fabric before beginning to cut. For all of you who wonder where I get those strings that I sew into quilt tops, this is where many of them originate. See how wide the strip is in the right picture and how narrow it gets in the left picture?

The video I watched on YouTube showed to cut the back piece 6 1/2 inches square, the fusible at 5 1/2 inches, the top 4 1/2 inches and the trim around the top 1 1/2 inches.  Some of the wreaths in videos I watched did not use a trim piece and just had a front and back with fusible between. If you do a search for folded fabric wreath on YouTube you will see several different ways to do these.

When I looked in my stash I saw three Christmas fabrics I thought went well together so decided to add the striped piece to the top fabric. The only thing I would do differently another time is cut the stripe on the bias.  But for a quick and easy project this worked fine.

I cut one and one-half inch strips of the striped and laid it face up on the sewing machine with the four and a half inch squares face down along the edge of it and sewed them together. Then off to the ironing board and then cut them apart.

back-of-squares

I sewed the top squares with the stripe around them to the bottom squares with the fusible ironed to them.  You put the two fabrics face to face and sew almost all the way around and then turn them right side out.  Somehow I missed taking a picture of this step but I began about an inch from a corner and sewed a quarter inch seam all the way around until I came back to the side I started on and turned the last corner and only sewed for about an inch and stopped.  This open side is where you reach in and turn the fabric to the outside.  Then I sewed an eighth of an inch from the edge all the way around the block to close up the opening and keep anything from shifting.

Then I sewed the squares together to make the wreath.  I marked them an inch and a half from the corner at the bottom and two and a half inches from the top corner drew a line with chalk from mark to mark and used this as my sewing guide.  I actually cut a cardboard square at 6 inches, marked it and then used it as a template to mark the squares.

template-for-sewing-together

And then it was finished!

finished-wreat

I packaged it up and took it to the ladies Christmas party at our local church and someone got it who was very pleased with it.  Who got it?  My niece, Vanessa. It was fun, quick, and easy to make and I’ll probably do some more.  Depending on the fabric they could be used for most anything.  Think of white ones made of mom’s wedding dress used on the doors and as pew markers for your wedding.  Or Valentine fabrics, or fall fabrics or whatever your imagination can come up with for using these.  Endless possibilities.

 

