Written by a 75 year old

“To celebrate growing older, I want to share some of the things I’ve learned in my 75 trips around the sun.  When your odometer rolls over one more time it makes you stop and think of stuff. Here is some of the stuff I’m thinking.

I hear a lot of folks talking about one thing and another being “fair.”  Well, I’m here to tell you that in 75 years I’ve never seen life be fair. And no one can tell me where it is written that it is supposed to be fair.  But I can tell you that it is good to be living, so to heck with fair.

Sometimes doubt sets in and I wonder what to do. After 75 years I can definitely say, “Take the next step and see where it leads you.” You may be amazed.

It is ridiculous to realize how short a time span 75 years is, it goes fast so quit wasting time and enjoy life. Just between us, life is too short and goes too fast, so enjoy the heck out of it.

And if I had not already discovered this, just rethinking the election we’ve recently come through would make me say that staying true to what you believe is important.

Don’t neglect family or friends because they are more important than you know.

If I could go back and re-do these years I would have saved more for retirement from the very first paycheck.

Irresistible describes something you cannot successfully resist.  That is why chocolate is described as irresistible. Go ahead, give in, life is short

Truly, it is all right to let your children see that you are not perfect.

Be like the flowers and don’t compare yourself to others. Bloom where you are with whatever kind of bloom you have. Daisies and roses don’t bloom alike but are both beautiful in their place.

Some old wives sayings are truer than you think.  I know for sure now that what doesn’t kill you really does make you stronger.

You cannot sit around waiting for others to make you happy, happiness is a choice you make, so if you aren’t happy don’t blame others.

happiness

You cannot make a quilt by looking at fabric.  You have to cut and sew to get it done and there will be a mess made while you do it. It is up to you to decide if the mess and work are worth the finished product.

Every day is special. Do what you can at the time to celebrate that specialness.

Really and truly it is better to be over prepared and then just go with what happens than it is to not be ready and get in a dither.

If you like purple and red, wear it now. Don’t wait until you are an old woman like I am. Some never make it to old age. Enjoy the moment.

Always choose life.

Let it go!  Remembering and clinging to old hurts doesn’t affect anyone but yourself. And that not in a good way.

Every thought in your mind doesn’t have to roll off your tongue. After 75 years, I’m still trying to master this one.

Nothing is forever except God, so don’t throw in the towel. The situation WILL change.

I have seen so many miracles it is easy for me to believe in miracles.

Growing old beats the alternative — dying young.  I’m doing the first, my sister did the second.

For those of you still raising children, our children get only one childhood, don’t make them grow up too fast. Clothes and faces will wash, scraped knees will heal, memories and adulthood last a long time.

 Life isn’t tied with a bow, but it’s still a “gift” and in the end the only thing that really matters in this world is whether you loved or not.  Love your neighbors, even when they are unlovable, love them anyway.

love-and-give

 

